Technical Services

Training

Polaris-led Training 

This 2-day training session will cover:

  • Introduction to the staff client

  • Searching

  • Record sets overview

  • Record structure in Polaris

  • Editing bibliographic records

  • Editing item records

  • Adding bibliographic and item records

  • Label manager

  • Deleting records

  •  Cataloging reports

Location:

CCS Office

Time:

9:00am-4:00pm

 

Dates:

Thurs., September 14-Fri., September 15

Thurs., October 12-Fri., October 13

Thurs., October 26-Fri., October 27

Thurs., November 30-Fri., December 1

REGISTER

Limited to 2 staff/library

 

This 1-day training session will cover:

  • Setting up serials

  • Serial holding records

  • Checking in serials

  • Managing subscriptions

  • Claiming

  • Serial reports

Location:

CCS Office

Time:

9:00am-4:00pm

Dates:

Friday, February 9

Thursday, March 29

REGISTER

Limited to 1 staff/library

Acquisitions training will be organized into two groups: 2 sessions for those who currently use acquisitions and 3 sessions for those who do not.

If your library currently uses the acquisitions module, please register for one of the following sessions:

  • February 20-21

  • March 15-16

 

If your library does not currently use the acquisitions module, please register for one of the following sessions:

 

  • February 22-23

  • March 13-14

  • March 27-28

 

If you have already registered staff for the acquisitions training, you do not have to re-register or change sessions. If you are unsure whether your library uses the acquisitions module, please consult with your technical services manager. 

Location:

CCS Office

Time:

9:00am-4:00pm

Dates:

Tues., February 20-Wed., February 21

Thurs., February 22-Fri., February 23

Tues., March 13-Wed., March14

Thurs., March 15-Fri., March 16

Tues., March 27-Wed., March 28

REGISTER

Limited to 3 staff/library

 

Simply Reports & Export Express

Date: Wed., October 4

Time: 9:30 am

View recording

Simply Reports

Date: Wed., November 1

Time: 9:30 am

View recording

All webinars will be recorded and posted on the portal. 

PAC Customization

Date: Mon., January 8, 2018

Time: 9:30 am

View recording

 

CCS-Led Training

Registration opens September 2017 for January 2018 CCS Training. Additional sessions may be added based on need. All training will be held at the CCS Office in Arlington Heights.

Reports

Learn how to log in to Simply Reports, create a report, view and manipulate results, and other report options. Limited to 3 staff/library.

Session Dates:

January 17, 2018 (2 sessions; 9:00am and 1:00pm)

February 16, 2018 (2 sessions; 9:00am and 1:00pm)

March 1, 2018 (2 sessions; 9:00am and 1:00pm)

Register

TS Cram Session

These sessions will provide an overview of all things Polaris, focusing on reinforcing training in cataloging, serials, and acquisitions. Limited to 1 staff/library.

Session Dates:

April 10, 2018 (9:00am - 12:00pm)

April 11, 2018 (9:00am - 12:00pm)

Register

Cataloging Basics

Learn the basics of using Polaris for cataloging, including using the "Find" tool, editing bib records (including programming macros), editing and creating item records, adding new records from OCLC, and using recordsets for managing workflow. Limited to 1 staff/library.

Session dates:

December 7, 2017 (9:00am - 12:00pm)

December 8, 2017 (9:00am - 12:00pm)

Register

Train-the-Trainer

 

These full-day sessions (9 am-4 pm) are designed for library leads and additional staff members who will have internal training responsibilities. Limited to 2 staff/library.

Session Dates:

November 6, 2017

November 7, 2017

November 8, 2017

 

Register

AMH Meeting *NEW*

 

This meeting is for libraries who currently have Automated Materials Handling (AMH) systems. The meeting will cover AMH configuration and testing for the migration. Registration is limited to 2 staff members per library.

Meeting Date:

February 2, 2018 (9:30am - 12:00pm)

 

Register