Transferring Holds Requests in Leap

You can transfer single or multiple hold requests from one bibliographic or item record to another bibliographic or item record in Leap. Unlike the staff client, when you transfer hold requests in Leap, the updated requests maintain the original pickup branch, activation date, expiration date, notes, patron information, and history.

 

Transfer an Individual Hold Request

1. Locate and open a hold request record. 

2. Using the Actions drop-down menu, select Transfer.

3. Use the Find Tool to locate the destination bib record.  

4. Once you select a destination bib record, a pop-up will appear where you can confirm the transfer. Once a hold is transferred, the action cannot be undone. 

5. After selecting Transfer, the hold will move to the destination bib. The hold will maintain the original pickup branch, activation date, expiration date, notes, patron information, and history.

Note: if the patron record has blocks, a notification will pop up. Staff can choose to continue with the transfer or cancel the action. 

Note: if transferring an item-level hold to a bib, staff will see a duplicate hold request notification. Click continue to complete the transfer. 

 

Transfer Multiple Hold Requests

1. Open the holds queue for the source bib record and navigate to All Hold Requests.

2. Click the checkbox at the top of the queue to select all holds, or pick and choose the holds to transfer. 

3. Select Transfer. 

4. Use the Find Tool to locate the destination bib record. 

5. Once you select a destination bib record, a pop-up will appear where you can confirm the transfer. Once the holds are transferred, the action cannot be undone. 

6. After selecting Transfer, the holds will move to the destination bib. The holds will maintain the original pickup branch, activation date, expiration date, notes, patron information, and history.

Note: if the patron record has blocks, a notification will pop up. Staff can choose to continue with the transfer or cancel the action. 

Note: if transferring an item-level hold to a bib, staff will see a duplicate hold request notification. Click continue to complete the transfer. 

Updated November 2019